Peter Morris Inducted into the Research Hall of Fame

By: Simon Knight | Posted on: 10th July 2014

Royal Melbourne logoThe Royal Melbourne Hospital is arguably the major teaching hospital of the University of Melbourne and Melbourne Health now forms a complex not only comprising the Royal Melbourne Hospital, but the Royal Children’s Hospital, the Royal Women’s hospital as well as a number of research institutes (e.g. Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Howard Florey Institute). As they launch the Parkville precinct as Australia’s leading biomedical research complex (it is right opposite the Medical School) they have established a Research Hall of Fame. The inaugural inductees on the 21st of June included Sir Peter Morris, Sir Gustav Nossal, Professor Priscilla Kincaid-Smith, Professor Ian Mackay, Professor Don Metcalf, the late Sir Macfarlane Burnet (Nobel Laureate), the late Dr John Cade and the late Sir Benjamin Rank as well as the first Professors of Surgery and Medicine at the University of Melbourne, namely the late Maurice Ewing and Richard Lovell. Other equally distinguished inductees were honoured at the Medical Foundation dinner on this special occasion.

Leave a Reply

   Awards | Staff